Blue Jay Blues

Oh the Jay is so proud and handsome high atop the apple tree.

No poem for this wily character. For a long time, I had been blaming the squirrels for digging up my garden, as well as, shredding my potted plants.  Now the walnuts that sprout every spring are probably the doing of the squirrels, but I began to find peanuts shells among the sweet peas. That’s about the same time the elderly neighbor called over the fence to tell me how she’s training the Jay Bird,

” He waits on the porch every mourning then takes the peanut right out of my hand and flies off with it”…

“Straight to my yard to dig up my sprouting beds to bury his prize for  an afternoon snack” I want to holler back.

This feathered tricksters has me bested. I can’t tell the dear lady to stop feeding the Jay because it gives her such pleasure and I’m not going to stop planting my garden.

What to do?  My solution, use Protection, create a barrier. Cover every pot with  chicken wire  and  place shards of  broken clay pots  (the one I threw at the squirrels) around every young plant until it’s big enough to fend for it’s self. To bad peanuts don’t grow in Northern California I’d  have a bumper crop thanks to the cultivating Jay Bird in my backyard.

5 thoughts on “Blue Jay Blues

  1. שלום, רציתי להמליץ לכם על חברה העוסקת בהתקנה ובניה של פרגולות. באתר, פרופיל החברה וכן קולקציות פרגולות נבחרות.

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter
    and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never
    wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely
    off topic but I had to tell someone!

Now have your say...

