The Story of A Hundered Year Old Cactus

The Grandfather Cactus Prays for us on Earth Day

Some Things Last and Others Don’t

The day before she left for the Peace Corps in Fiji

she brought this cactus over for me to take care of.

She said that her  husband’s Grandfather brought

it from Mexico over a hundred years ago.

That was 17 years ago.  It is still in the same pot

blooming 2 or 3 time a year. She never asked

for it back but I put a cutting on her door step

a few years back.

6 thoughts on “The Story of A Hundered Year Old Cactus

      • I replied to this earlier but I don’t think I hit Post Comment or something. I do remember your mom’s cactus garden. Also Dad had several Cactis’. I have one here that I brought down from Ponca about 40 years ago. We actually got a start for this one in Alberquerque (spellit) when I was about 8 or 9 years old when we were on vacation. Now that cactus is old ain’t it!!

        NDL

Now have your say...

