Poetry Day 18: A Rubiayat

Rubaiyat of Carol

Each week I carried that small sweet green and gilded book,
To sunday school so like all the other children I would look.
No on notices that the cover read The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam
Truth by any hand is truth and this was my chosen book.

A Child of four or five I couldn’t or wouldn’t read,
You might believe innocence of intention I should plead
Except for the fact that I love its gold and scrolling words
Infused with the scent of leather and fresh ground cardamom seed.

To this day the mysteries of the East I do cherish.
All the people of this Earth have the right to their favorite dish
and favorite song and words that opens their hearts to love and praise.
Respect for all souls paths to paradise is my deepest heartfelt wish.

1/18/2014 Good Friday

So happy be reminded of this tender story of my childhood and to have this opportunity to share the mark it left on me.

Today I challenge you to write a ruba’i. What’s that? Well, it’s a Persian form — multipe stanzas in the ruba’i form are a rubaiyat, as in The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. Basically, a ruba’i is a four-line stanza, with a rhyme scheme of AABA. Robert Frost’s famous poem Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening uses this rhyme scheme. You can write a poem composed of one ruba’i, or try your hand at more, for a rubaiyat.

Now have your say...

