Phoneography: Macro Nature Images and Opinion

Sally Donatello’s, creator of Lens and Pens, search for a new name for Non Traditional photography got me to thinking should Non SLR be included. So I did my own experiment.  I took pictures of our quince with both my iPhone and my digital camera. These two photos are the results.They both have been cropped. The one on the left was taken with the iPhone the right is from my digital point and shoot. Click on them to see them full size.

The images don’t tell the whole story however, because I can make almost as many adjustments with the point and shoot as I could with my SLR. It seems to me the challenge is lost using a point and shoot with 16 mega pixels and 15X zoom. I also became aware I spend more time looking with my phone and less time adjusting, maybe I didn’t capture pollen on petals but I created more images. It is a totally different experience shooting with a phone, tactile and immediate, and more inmate . My header and background photos was taken with my iPhone.

Another thing I aways have my phone with, that’s why on my way home from the store Saturday I stopped by Strawberry Creek to look for willow catkins. Here are a few images:

willow catkin-iphone photo edited and cropped in phototoaster

willow catkin-iphone photo edited and cropped in phototoaster

This is suppose to be a macro challenge but this as close as I could get without falling in the stream. While I’m at it here’s the Strawberry Creek

Strawberry Creek

Strawberry Creek

Horsetail husk shoot with iPhone no enhancement

Horsetail husk shoot with iPhone no enhancement

Horsetail up close

Horsetail up close

Which photo do you prefer?

and any opinion about whether digitals camera should be included in the same category as camera phones.

Happy Monday

View other entries to today’s challenge:

http://irisgreenwald.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-monday-challenge-nature/

http://pictograf.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-challenge-macro/

http://irenewaters19.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-monday-and-macro-monday/

http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-challenge-macro-milkweed/

http://angelinem.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-challenge-macro-in-red/

http://irisgreenwald.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/phoneography-monday-challenge-macro/

http://completelydisappear.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/the-cute-wisdom/

16 thoughts on “Phoneography: Macro Nature Images and Opinion

  1. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Macro (Everyday Objects) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. My favorite is the willow catkin, which is a name as lovely as the photo. As for which camera to use, I feel the same as I do about the book vs. e-reader discussion. There’s a time and place for each and why not celebrate them all? One isn’t inherently better than the other (and I know you’re not saying that.) And ultimately, a tool is only as good as the person using it. For this challenge, I like sticking to non-conventional cameras. There are plenty other places to use the others.

    janet

    Like

    • If someone gave a nice big SLR camera I sure would use it 😉 but not for Sally’s challenges. I’m sticking to the iPhone maybe even scanner for Phoneography.
      Yes, catkin is a lovely word and they turn into pussy willow. Willow seems to have magical properties. Last year I had a few branches of pussy willow I stuck them in the ground as bean poles and they took root and leafed out. They may still be growing in the back garden.
      Happy Monday Janet

      Like

  3. Thanks for the pingback, Carol. I love the photo in your header…and with your iPhone! These phones are fantastic! I always have mine with me too, and use it a lot. I think I’m another fan of your Catkins also.

    Like

    • These Phones are pretty amazing, (See conversation below with an old friend who just got one) I have seen iPhone photos in National Geographic, that is the gold standard of photography…
      So Glad you liked the willows too. I’m about to see what they look like printed. Sometimes I’m disappointed with the extremely processed ones.
      Keep shooting 🙂
      Carol

      Like

  4. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: Macro | Something to Ponder About

  5. All your shots are beautiful Carol. I can see their are advantages to both the iphone and the SLR. The iphone (now that I have one with a good camera) is so convenient. And it takes great pictures. But it also “feel really good” to have an SLR in your hands. Probably just from the memories of using one for so long. Anyway, keep up the good work!!

    Neal

    Like

    • The click of the shutter on SLR is so satisfying. Mine is so elderly it’s joints are like me, kinda creaky and sticks some time 😉
      Do you know you can google “how to” anything you want to learn about your phone? Like how to email photos from my iPhone…now that you have a working computer… you can do that 🙂 Which iPhone did you get 5c 5s?
      Happy shooting

      Like

  6. Pingback: Turning the lens on my kitchen | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

Now have your say...

