Poetry Day 9 Let’s Cry in Our Beer And Sing Sad Songs

jkk

Honky Tonk Cryin’ in Your Beer Sad Sad Song

His beer got cold as he told the ‘tender:

“How was I to know

she was the devil in disguise

with a cold cold heart?

She loves you

I kept telling himself.

I couldn’t resist that brown-eyed girl’s

“Hay good lookin”  every morning

when I came home from work after

a hard day’s night.”

TODAY’S PROMPT from NaPOWriMo take any random song play list (from your iPod, CO player, favorite radio station, Pandora or Spotify , etc.) and use the next five song titles on that randomized list in a poem.

I randomized  a play list from my iTunes Library. I admit I went to the Beatles but shuffle did the selecting. I couldn’t help but add a sixth of my own choosing. This sad poem wrote itself thanks to the Beatles, Hank Williams and Emmylou Harris.

Since it’s Wonder Wednesday I’ll let you tell me the names of the songs. For extra points what is the song six? Don’t read the comments before you guess,but tell me if you got them right 😉

Please write you own play list inspired poem, if you please.

Jake Sprinters Sunday post asked for musical instruments.

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Poetry Day 9 Let’s Cry in Our Beer And Sing Sad Songs

  1. OK, here’s my guesses (all except one were from my memory):
    Devil In Disguise – Elvis
    Cold, Cold Heart – Hank Williams (I cheated on this one, sadly, but that’s because I thought It might have been Peter Gabriel and I wanted to make sure)
    She Loves You – The Beatles
    Brown Eyed Girl – Van Morrison
    Hey Good Lookin’ – Hank Williams
    Hard Day’s Night – Beatles

    Like

    • Excellent job. Lookin’ something up isn’t cheatin’ . Anything that gets you to listen to Hank has to be good. Here’s a happy face for your work 🙂 Now do you remember the TV game show Name That Tune.

      Like

Now have your say...

