Phoneography Nature Challenge: The Urban Deer

Buck behind

Buck behind

Deer are a common sight and a nuance in the East Bay hills, however I live far down the hill and across many busy roads so to have a deer nesting behind my garage calmly chewing his cud  has been a surprise this week. The neighbors had said they had seen a big buck in her yard but I hardly believe her. Thanks to my handy smart phone I have proof and some nice urban wildlife shots.
I wonder if this fine buck he knows deer hunting season stars November 1?

Portait

portrait

He thinks he’s hiding and lets me get quite close.

From kitchen door

We watch each other all morning. My view from kitchen door

Then he moves next door for the apples

Next door

Urban Deer goes next door

Caught in the act

The apples are so tasty

The apples are so tasty

The Moment Our Eyes Met  
I step ousted to check if my eyes were deceiving me
a pair of white butterflies danced by,
a squirrel in the bushes began to chatter
then the turkeys on the next block added their voices to the conversation.
I shook my head and rubbed my eyes.
Was I in a fairy tale forest? A Disney movie? No.
There  actually was a deer in my garden!

Tell me what you thinK
Have you had unexpected visitors in your yard?

For Lens and Pens

 

31 thoughts on “Phoneography Nature Challenge: The Urban Deer

  1. Oh, it’s a perfect example of our infiltration into their habitats. Humans are so arrogant as to think that we own the land. Great that you embrace their majesty and presence. I have turned my small parcel, which is almost a half acre, into wildlife habitats. Mostly, I reduce the grass and make gardens or swaths of small meadow gardens. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Photo Challenge: Nature (and More Afternoon Refractions) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  3. I enjoy watching the Deer. The trailer resort we belong to in Branson is 360 acres of wooded area. When it isn’t so busy in the winter months we can watch the deer all thru the park. One morning around 2:00 a.m. I heard a thunder outside and when I looked out about 50+ deer were running across the road. Beautiful site. There are also a lot of wild turkeys in the resort. We love it.

    Neal

    Like

  4. Pingback: Phoneography: Nature’s beauty | decocraftsdigicrafts

  5. Send him over to my house. My next door neighbor’s apple tree is dropping a full load on my side of the fence. I have been throwing away five gallon buckets of apples twice a week. They are wormy and half chewed by the squirrels but I bet that buck wouldn’t mind at all.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Phoneography and Non-SLR Photo Challenge: Nature (Lysoen) | Something to Ponder About

  7. I haven’t seen much wildlife where our rental house is, but in the park where I walk most mornings, I’ve seen deer, coyotes and lots of birds. We used to see many deer in and around our place in Cleveland.

    janet

    Like

  8. We occasionally have roe deer dashing across the roads in front of cars here. They can do quite a bit of damage. When we stayed in Argyll the deer used to come down from the hill and jump a high wall into our garden, and munch much of the cultivated vegetation. Sometimes roe deer though often red deer. They are a real menace on the roads and you have to keep a way eye open for them. The Forestry Commission had a programme of culling as populations were exceeding the vegetation necessary to ensure healthy animals. The shooting estates were up in arms, but it did mean that for a while we had fewer on the roads to cause damage.

    Like

    • Interestingly enough there is a big article in the paper today about shooting contest to cull coyotes in California. They do harm rancher’s herds but unfortunately wolves get killed along with the coyotes. Wildlife management is always a challenge no matter where you are it seems. I’ll just enjoy my deer in the garden for now.

      Like

Now have your say...

