Solstice Presents From Nature for Odd Ball Challenge #51

Like Clock Work The Quince Blooms Every Year for the Solstice

Solstice Flower

Japanese Quince

 

Lemon about ready to pick

Lemon about ready to pick

I tripped out in the drizzly morning today to capture these pictures for CEE’s Odd Ball Challenge #51 They are Odd only because having grown up in the Mid-West to have flowers and fruit in full bloom on the shortest day of the year will always be a happy California surprise.

Here’s hoping the new sun that arrives tomorrow will bring you many gifts and surprises too.

One King with gifts for you

One King with gifts for you

Here is another present I got today My Oddities from the Holly Fait post on Carlisle from last week is a Featured blog on this week On Cee’s Odd ball Challenge.

022414-feature-banner

 

 

7 thoughts on “Solstice Presents From Nature for Odd Ball Challenge #51

  1. My husband’s grandmother had a few quince trees in Northern California, and every year I would make quince jam. I was quite entranced by them at that time in my life, in my 30’s. To me, they were exotic and unusual. Your post brings back these memories.

    Like

  2. Seeing that lemon reminds me of the Lemon Tree they used to have at the Ponca Floral. It grew lemons about the size of a large grapefruit. They kept it for years and finally had to cut it down because it got so large. It was in their greenhouse. Do you remember it??

    Neal

    Like

Now have your say...

