Receive The Blessing  

December 12 is the feast day of Our Lady of Guadalupe

lknf
A woven Guadalupe Hanging in my living room.

“Our Lady seems to often come to those of us who are in some way,

 frayed little ropes,

tiny leaves blown about.

Thus, she is known too, as Reweaver of the Unraveled.

Calm Center of the Storm.”

Clarissa Pinkola Estés

December 12 is the day of Our Lady of Guadalupe, also known as Tonantzin.  Her story begins long before the colonizers went to Mexico.  She was honored on the he hill of Tepeyac where Tonatzin’s temple had been burnt by the Spanish priests. When she performed the three miracles for Juan Diego, (now a Catholic saint and possibly one of the first indigenous converts to Catholicism) the indigenous people accepted Our Lady of Guadalupe as Tonatzin.  I like to think that she wanted to make sure that we wouldn’t forget her during the trying times of the last 500+ years, and now many of us are remembering who she really is”.

Penny Opal Plant

My Visit With Our Lady of Guadalupe

When I went to Mexico  City I expected to visit the shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe only to be too tired to get on the bus to go so I spent a quit day with my family wandering the City, eating at my daughter’s favorite restaurant, and sitting on ancient stone steps in the sun.  Because I thought I was missing out on something  special I paid close attention to everything that happened that day and it became special. That is how the memories from July 4,2011 became my a blessing, from Our Lady of Guadalupe.

Pay attention there are many blessings awaiting you around every corner!

Thanks for the many blessing from Becca Givens the curator of Nurturing Thursday,

Frequent Contributors to
Nurturing Thursday:

Laurie’s Notes
Jacqueline King
Crowing Crone Joss
Inside the Mind of Isadora
Pocket Perspectives

Hugmama

Daily Post Precious

19 thoughts

Now have your say...