Telegraph Avenue
First look down Telegraph Avenue with UC Berkeley’s Campanile in the background.

I was in Oakland South of Berkeley when I saw this weeks challenge of Street Life. My route home took me down Telegraph Avenue. Telegraph is a one-way street that dead ends into UC Berkeley. It is were homeless and college co-ed cross paths on a daily basis. I gave myself the assignment to take whatever photos I could from my car when it naturally stopped for traffic. These are the four pictures I came out with. It’s spring break so most of the images are of the homeless.

Further down Telebraph
Further down Telegraph Ave. In front of Amoeba  Music

I edited the pictures with as texture and color to give the people the grace they deserve.

Telegraph Ave in front of what use to be Moe's Book store
Telegraph Ave in front of what use to be Cody’s  Used Book store a Berkeley institution where you could find any book you wanted. It was made useles by Amazon and Barns and Nobles.
One more look
One more look at Telegraph.

I’ll let the emotional impact of these photos stand alone as comments on homelessness. The challenge today was to show the character of a town by its streets. There is a lot more to Berkeley I just happened to be on Telegraph this morning.

How do these photos make you feel?

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Pat and Al’s Adventure Continues…
  2. These Streets | feelosophical
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | 2far2shout
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Blog is where the Home is
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Charles Ray’s Ramblings
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Eye Candy Visionz
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | ms. diplomacy
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life (part 2) | Eye Candy Visionz
  9. France and the simplicity of life | Scent of Rina
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge -Street Life | Joe’s Musings

 

 

25 thoughts

    1. I got the painterly quality because these photos are dramatically cropped which pixlates them then I used Phototaster. I may have also used Camera+ I did a lot of work to get the effect I wanted. I felt they deserved that dignity.
      Thanks for asking.

      Like

Now have your say...