Enjoying Clementine cake
My Friend Lee with Clementine cake

Last Week on Nurturing Thursday I suggested Celebrate what you’ve harvested. This is how I celebrated with a Clementine Cake. Why Clementine cake? We had watched Secret Life of Walter Mitty the week before where Clementine cake made by Shirley McClain plays a pivotal role in the plot so I had to find out if there was such a thing. Turns out, not only there is, but there is even a Walter Mitty Clementine cake.  It’s easy to make and even gluten-free because it’s made with almond flour. It seemed so special I invited a few friends over to help eat it and watch and watch the movie. It turned out to be a festive harvest of friends, food and laughter.
Clementine cake is now my new favorite summer cake.

What’s your favorite summer dessert to share? Now make one and share it. 🙂

FYI Clementines are a variety of small seedless tangerines.

Trader Joe’s has all the ingredientsIMG_2423

Walter Mitty CLEMENTINE CAKE (feel free to cut and paste this)

  • 375 grams clementines (approximately 5 small)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup (225 grams) white sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups (250 grams) ground almonds
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  1. Preheat the oven to 375ºF.  Butter and line an 8 or 9 inch springform pan with parchment.
  2. Poke each clementine 3 or 4 times with a knife.   Put the clementines in a bowl with a microwave safe cover or plastic wrap.  Cook on high for 3-4 minutes. Cool slightly then dump the clementines (whole) in a food processor and process until smooth.
  3. In large bowl beat eggs and sugar until light colored and doubled in volume (about 5 minutes)
  4. Add in chopped clementines and mix well.  Then add ground almonds and baking power and mix until combined.
  5. Pour mixture into pan and bake for about 45 minutes (when a skewer will come out clean).
  6. Cool in the pan on a rack.   Once cake is cold, remove from pan and pull off any parchment.
  7. Glaze and add candied clementines to decorate.

GLAZE ( I used less sugar)

  • 2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1/2 cup clementine juice
  1. Mix everything in a bowl adjusting clementine juice and sugar to make a loose but thick glaze

CANDIED CLEMENTINES

19 thoughts

  1. What a tasty way to celebrate the bountiful fruits available right now, Carol! I’m impressed that you themed an evening around it and invited your friends to share the cake and the movie ~ it looks yummy and gluten free too, that’s a bonus! I plan to write about my harvest too ~ maybe next week. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love baking and make all my own cakes and biscuits. I have some firm favourites but cook anything and everything.
    You cannot go past a good sponge, boiled fruit cake, cherry cake, cinnamon tea-cake … all cake is good if home-made.

    Like

  3. this sounds and looks really delicious. I will try it for sure, once I am home. I love clementines. I may adjust the recipe to use honey instead of white sugar tho. Will let you know how it turns out.

    Like

Now have your say...